Jersey's new chief minister nominates council

Go down

Jersey's new chief minister nominates council

Post by GD on Wed 16 Nov 2011, 6:30 pm

The Chief Minister designate Senator Ian Gorst has nominated nine ministers.

If members agree, four ministers will keep their seats, but there will be five new appointees.

He wants Senator Ian Le Marquand at the treasury, Senator Francis Le Gresley at social security, Senator Lyndon Farnham at home affairs, Deputy Patrick Ryan at education, and Constable John Refault as transport minister.

But Senator Ian Gorst can change his list around during the voting.

If, for example, his nominee is not elected for the selected role, he can nominate them for a different ministry.

The chief minister designate has kept Deputy Andrew Green at housing, Senator Alan Maclean as economic development minister, Deputy Rob Duhamel as planning and environment minister and Deputy Anne Pryke as the health minister.

States vote

There is no role for Senator Sir Philip Bailhache, who missed out on the chief minister role by three votes.

There is also no job for the current treasury minister Senator Philip Ozouf, or the education minister Deputy James Reed.

Meanwhile, Deputy Geoff Southern has applied for the minister role at Social Security, and Deputy Mike Higgins wants the economic development minister job.

Senator Sarah Ferguson will challenge Deputy Anne Pryke for the health job.

Deputy Kevin Lewis, the current assistant minister at transport and technical services, has put his name forward for the top job.

The States will decide who will take which roles from Thursday.
(from BBC)

......THE BOSS......

"Always be yourself because the people who mind don't matter, and the people who matter don't mind"


Number of posts : 10122
Location : Channel Islands
Job/hobbies : Website
Humor : Anything that makes me laugh
Registration date : 2008-03-06

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum